Presidential Image Gallery

Spanish Florida and the Expanding Union

December 15, 1817
Source: The Library of Congress

The expansion of the United States continued during the presidency of James Monroe. Secretary of State John Quincy Adams procured the sale of Florida to the United States; Florida was officially acquired from Spain in 1819. In addition to the acquisition of Florida, five new states joined the Union: Mississippi (1817), Illinois (1818), Alabama (1819), Maine (1820), and Missouri (1821). 

← Return to James Monroe Gallery