Miller Center

Next →
Book Review: The End of Greatness
← Previous
ARTICLE: ‘Made in America, Again”

You might also like...

PODCAST: Can Startups Save the American Dream? (05/19/15)

ARTICLE: Raising New Capital for Your Mission-Driven Startup (05/19/15)

ARTICLE: Red Tape Is Killing Startups - Here’s How To Fix It (05/13/15)

ARTICLE: Beyond Silicon Valley (04/30/15)

ARTICLE: Teaching Tomorrow’s Founders: Ideas for K-12 Education (04/24/15)

Presidential Speech Archive

American President: A Reference Resource

Presidential Recordings

Presidential Oral Histories

← Return to Riding The Tiger

Ray LaHood, Antonio Villaraigosa to Co-Chair Commission on Infrastructure and Middle-Class Jobs

Co-Chairs LaHood and Villaraigosa

Former Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and former Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa will co-chair a new University of Virginia Miller Center commission charged with developing innovative, bipartisan ideas on how to create and sustain middle-class jobs through infrastructure policy. 

In addition to LaHood and Villaraigosa, commission members include:

Robert Atkinson, president, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation
Kofi Bonner, regional vice president, Lennar Urban; non-resident senior fellow, Brookings Institution
Tyler Duvall, principal, McKinsey & Company; former acting under-secretary for policy and assistant secretary for transportation policy, U.S. Department of Transportation
Jane Garvey, former director, Federal Aviation Administration; former director, Logan International Airport; chairman, Meridiam North America Fund
Jacob Hacker, Stanley B. Resor Professor of Political Science & director of the Institute for Social and Policy Studies, Yale University
Rosabeth Moss Kanter, Ernest L. Arbuckle Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School; chair and director, Harvard University Advanced Leadership Initiative
Janet Kavinoky, executive director, transportation & infrastructure, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Naveen Lamba, program manager, Smarter Infrastructure Solutions, CH2M Hill; former global industry lead for intelligent transportation, IBM
Robert Yaro, president, Regional Plan Association

Peter Norton, professor of the history of technology at U.Va, will serve as lead scholar of the commission.
Commission members will meet in Washington, D.C. on October 8 and 9.

Date edited: 10/06/2014 (12:31PM)


Rules for Comments

We reserve the right to remove any post or user.

Things that will get comments edited/deleted:

  • Offensive or abusive language or behavior
  • Misrepresentation (i.e., claiming to be somebody you're not) – using a “handle” is fine as long as it isn’t offensive, abusive, or misrepresentative
  • Posting of copyrighted materials
  • Spam, solicitations, or advertisements of any kind

We hope these rules will keep the discussion lively and on topic.




Add your comments:

Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?

← Return to Riding The Tiger